Buzz Aldrin received “The Greatest Comeback Award” at a Nixon Library dinner in his honor. (Left to right) Hugh Hewitt, Ambassador Robert O’Brien, Lisa Argyros, and Aldrin.

The Nixon Foundation presented Apollo 11 astronaut Buzz Aldrin with its “Greatest Comeback Award,” honoring the second man on the moon for his and fellow astronauts 240,000 mile re-entry to Earth which began 50 years ago today. The three splashed down in the South Pacific on July 24, 1969, and met with President Nixon on the U.S.S. Hornet before returning to U.S. soil, and journeying on a goodwill trip across the world.

Nixon Foundation President Hugh Hewitt, newly elected board director Lisa Argyros and Ambassador Richard O’Brien presented the award. O’Brien is a long-time friend and attorney of Mr. Aldrin, and currently serves as President Trump’s special envoy for hostage affairs.

Hundreds of Nixon Library supporters came to the East Room dinner, and hear Aldrin in conversation with Hewitt. Aldrin discussed his formative years, education, and service to the country that culminated in the historic moon landing.

Prior to the ceremonies, Aldrin toured the Nixon Library’s special exhibit, “Apollo 11: One Giant Leap for Mankind.”

Thank you to the evening’s Vice Chairs: Lisa Argyros/Argyros Family Foundation, Esther & James Cavanaugh, Steve Craig, Donald R. Beall, Mr. and Mrs. Arthur J. Goodwin, Doy Henley, John Herklotz/American Happenings, Betsy and Hugh Hewitt, Colleen and Buck Johns, Ray and Mary Maggi and Dr. Daniele Struppa.

With gratitude to the evening’s host committee: Hon. and Mrs. Michael Antonovich, Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation, EDSI, Inc., Frazer, LLP., Kathy and John Hamilton, Maralou and Jerry Harrington, Lawrence Higby, Parker Kennedy, Ken and Meredith Khachigian, Heather and Martin A. Klein III, Joann Leatherby, Donna Loren, Mark Parrish, Richard (Sandy) Quinn, Ruth B. Shannon and David Zavagno.

View Gallery: